Hello Guest

Author Topic: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2  (Read 38853 times)

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2013, 04:32:00 pm »
Easy! Register your copy of 2D Toolkit following the instructions here:
http://unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit/forum/index.php/topic,34.0.html

And download it right here.

Uttpd

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2013, 04:15:26 pm »
Awesome expansion,
will this be a side expansion, or integrated in the toolkit?

Hope a final release comes soon so I can "poke" the playmaker devs to add the extension.  :D

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2013, 04:21:48 pm »
Awesome expansion,
will this be a side expansion, or integrated in the toolkit?

Hope a final release comes soon so I can "poke" the playmaker devs to add the extension.  :D

There will be an official announcement about this very soon :)

dustinbahr

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2013, 04:30:21 pm »
Awesome! Love it!

Is there an easy way to reset a scrollable area? I have a few scrollable areas that i am showing in succession. When I go back and forth between them I want to snap back to top.

I tried setting the Value property, which works except if the area still had velocity.

This led me to what I believe is a bug:

Code: [Select]
if (swipeCurrVelocity > .1f || swipeCurrVelocity < .1f)
                    {
                        swipeCurrVelocity = Mathf.Lerp(swipeCurrVelocity, 0, tk2dUITime.deltaTime * 2.5f); //change multiplier to change slowdown velocity
                    }
                    else
                    {
                        swipeCurrVelocity = 0;
                    }

Shouldn't this part be:
Code: [Select]
if (swipeCurrVelocity > .1f || swipeCurrVelocity < -0.1f)
Even with that fixed though, a reset method would be nice, to basically kill any velocity and reset to top.

mamamia

  • Guest
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2013, 10:19:48 am »
Hi!,

I would like to know if the UI system will provide modal panesls.

THanks in advance.

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2013, 10:53:29 am »
Hi!,

I would like to know if the UI system will provide modal panesls.

THanks in advance.

No, since this depends entirely on your game and how you use Input. But, the good thing is implementing something like that is pretty trivial, usually you need a way to pause your game and stop input being processed by the game, and the UI system can cope with the rest.

pavel.kivalin

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2013, 07:50:16 pm »
Do you have any documentation for 2D Toolkit UI?

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2013, 07:53:05 pm »
There is a PDF doc included in the package. Autogenerated doxygen docs will be in the next release.

AppleGuy

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2013, 11:31:23 pm »
There is a PDF doc included in the package. Autogenerated doxygen docs will be in the next release.

The latest package does not come with it.  Only managed to find it in the earlier alpha version.

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2013, 09:32:29 am »
I must've broken the build script. Thanks for letting me know.

AppleGuy

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #25 on: April 18, 2013, 02:47:31 am »
I must've broken the build script. Thanks for letting me know.

Will you be uploading the new one or I can just take reference from the older version?

One question.  It seems that for the 2D UI to work, I need to setup another camera in addition to tk2dcamera or can I reuse that?  Also if I need to setup a scrollable area, I will need another camera. 

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2013, 10:01:54 am »
The next beta will have that fixed in there - I don't usually reupload versions without incrementing version numbers - just for sanitys sake. I'm just waiting on testing some new fixes before releasing a new version.

Also to answer your question - you can use a tk2dCamera no problem, but the default skin is set up without a tk2dCamera, so its going to be tiny in there. You're free to change stuff though - you'll have to reposition labels, sprites, etc, but it definitely does work, and doesn't require any scripting. I'm using it in another project with tk2dCamera.

Yes, for the scrollable area - you will need another camera. It keeps things really quite efficient that way, as no CPU clipping is required like this.

AppleGuy

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #27 on: April 19, 2013, 09:54:52 am »
The next beta will have that fixed in there - I don't usually reupload versions without incrementing version numbers - just for sanitys sake. I'm just waiting on testing some new fixes before releasing a new version.

Also to answer your question - you can use a tk2dCamera no problem, but the default skin is set up without a tk2dCamera, so its going to be tiny in there. You're free to change stuff though - you'll have to reposition labels, sprites, etc, but it definitely does work, and doesn't require any scripting. I'm using it in another project with tk2dCamera.

Yes, for the scrollable area - you will need another camera. It keeps things really quite efficient that way, as no CPU clipping is required like this.

My concern is will having too many cameras in a scene affect the performance especially for mobile devices.

Anyway thanks and looking forward for the new update.  :)

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #28 on: April 19, 2013, 10:12:15 am »
You'll be fine with 2 cameras :) Software clipping overhead tends to be a lot higher, and also very dependent on the content you're displaying. Eg, you won't be able to mix-in a 3d model into your list for instance. You can now, and it costs next to nothing :)

spacejaguar

  • 2D Toolkit
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: 2D Toolkit UI 1.0 beta 2
« Reply #29 on: April 28, 2013, 06:33:05 pm »
I am getting an error in unity when opening this package...

Error while importing package: Couldn't decompress package

Using 4.0 / Mac.