Hello Guest

Author Topic: Tilemap for a Runner Game  (Read 6414 times)

grcwar

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Tilemap for a Runner Game
« on: August 22, 2013, 03:32:53 pm »
Hello! I'm a game developer from Brazil, used to work with Unity on 3D and now really beginning the 2D world to build a "runner" game, just like Subway surfers but on 2d.

I'm studying the 2D toolkit and so far it has been great, also I have read many questions about tile maps on the forums, but I would like to ask you help to clarify the following points:

1) Using the toolkit what would be the best architecture to build the tile sequence for a level? I mean, we have many sequences of tiles, with different sizes, and we would like to load them randomly to build the path in which the player will pass by. So we don't know if we should use like a tilemap (really helps a lot building the sequence) or if we should have just gameobjects containing the sequences of individual sprites and the go instancing them according to the player progress.

2) In our current structure we have some layers that move together to build a parallax effect: One for the background sprites, other for some game scene elements, and a third one for the elements that really are going to interact with the player, like obstacles and power-ups. We are keeping the camera and the player stoped, so all the other layers are moving... are we on the right track? 

3) Also, as far as I could find on the forums, seems like it's not a good idea moving the tileMap object right? So, if we decide to use the tilemaps to build the sequences of obstacles, how can me move then? We will need to load and unload some data since the game has no end.. does it work with many tilemaps on the same scene?