Hello Guest

Author Topic: Sprites with jumpy and shifting pixels when moving  (Read 5167 times)

rludlam

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Sprites with jumpy and shifting pixels when moving
« on: March 03, 2016, 12:43:07 pm »
Hi all,
I'm very new to 2dToolKit and while I've enjoyed getting to know it, I am frustrated that I can't seem to get my sprites to look right.  When moving, the pixels are always shifting / jumping, so in one frame a line that is 2px in width might look right, but be 4px in width when moved slightly to the left or right.  After extensive searching, I'm guessing that this is likely due to sub-pixel movement, but I haven't seen any indication as to the best way to deal with that when using 2dtoolkit.  Any help would be much appreciated!

For some further info:
 - all my sprites are set to use point filtering
 - I am using a TD2K camera set to 1px / meter (have tried other settings as well), orthographic
 - Camera override is set to "Pixel Perfect"
 - Have tried various native / preview resolutions without any apparent effect

I'm attaching 2 files that show the issue (using SMB2 sprites for testing).  One is taken from the editor, the other from the in-game shot.  You can clearly see the difference between them in the eyes of the character.

Ultroman

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
Re: Sprites with jumpy and shifting pixels when moving
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 05:51:26 pm »
Did you click this button on your sprite?

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2016, 09:48:46 am »
This does look like a subpixel issue - however are you running at 1:1 to start with? If you're upscaling / downscaling the chances of this happening are way higher.

rludlam

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2016, 01:23:07 pm »
Hi guys, thanks for the responses.  @Ultroman: yes, I've clicked 1:1, and the sprites look good in the editor.  The issue is really only apparent in the game window.