Hello Guest

Author Topic: 2d player follow like ski safari  (Read 8898 times)

krithik_b007

• 2D Toolkit
    • View Profile
2d player follow like ski safari
« on: July 01, 2013, 08:50:53 am »
Hello

I am new to unity i am basically cocos2d developer . I am trying to make a game which is similar to ski safari.

I am using 2d toolkit.

My problem is i want to follow the player with camera , and camera should zoom when the player jumps . Currently i am zooming by changing the camera's orthographic size. But when we change the camera's orthographic size the player moves in x axis which i don't want , i want player to be static in x axis of the screen .

In my current logic i am moving the player with physics and adding force to rigid body.
And camera is following the player with smooth follow script and i am ray casting from player to terrain to determine the height of the player and correspondingly i am changing the orthographic size of camera . But in this approach i am facing many problems and more over the effect is not similar to ski safari. I want to move the player in between 1/4 to 3/4 in the screen, with proper zooming

I have posted the question in forum as well .
http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/186128-2D-Smooth-Follow-with-zoom-Like-Ski-Safari-amp-Tiny-Wings

If anyone can give me suggestion on how to proceed than it will be great .

Thank you
Krithik 

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: 2d player follow like ski safari
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 10:35:00 am »
You will need to change orthographic size AND move the camera to compensate for the changed size. You will have to work out the position the player is in the current ortho size (camera.worldtoscreenposition) and then once you change the size, use screen to worldposition to work out where the player will need to be in the new camera, and move your camera appropriately.