Hello Guest

Author Topic: Painting "coin" prefabs with tilemap  (Read 8303 times)

bletalik

• View Profile
Painting "coin" prefabs with tilemap
« on: November 09, 2012, 08:11:45 pm »
I am new to Unity and 2DToolKit. I'm really loving the tool, but I'm having difficulty using the tilemap editor to paint prefabs.

I'm making a basic 2D sidescroller platformer, and I have a basic coin prefab that works as intended when placed as individual objects in the hierarchy.

I want to be able to paint the location of the coins throughout the level using the tilemap editor. I tried dragging the coin prefab into the prefab slot in the data menu of one of my tiles (a placeholder box tile), but nothing happens when it's placed into the game. Although the box can be seen in the scene editor, it is not present in the playtest view.

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help!

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Painting "coin" prefabs with tilemap
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 08:44:25 pm »
What do you mean its present in the scene view but not in game view?
If its visible in one and not in game view (as I understood it), that implies it might be too far away in the z axis? Try zooming out in the scene view to see where it is in the z axis... If not if you post some screenshots, that would definitely help work out what's gone wrong.

bletalik

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 10:06:01 pm »
I'm pretty sure the z-axis is 0 for everything, and I'm using an orthographic camera.

In the first screenshot, you'll see that I applied the "gear" prefab to the copper gear tile in my tilemap.

I then placed that copper gear between the grey and white gears in the scene view.

The next screenshot shows the game view, and the copper gear has disappeared.

My goal is to copy to properties from the regular gears (the white and grey ones), to the copper gear that I can place easily using the tilemap.