Hello Guest

Author Topic: Loading times on Tilemaps  (Read 3969 times)

spr

• View Profile
Loading times on Tilemaps
« on: January 23, 2014, 06:02:50 am »
Hey there,

I'm still very new to 2dtk and I'd really like to know if this is normal.
I am developing for Android currently and did experience some really long loading times.
In the end the tilemap turned out to be the 'problem', so I ran a few scenarios through my phone (Samsung Galaxy S2)

The Testing Scene did only have 1 Camera and the tilemap attached. I only used one sprite over the whole tilemap with a box collider attached.

No Map at all (0x0) = Around 1 second loading time
My Standard Map (128x128) = Around 20 seconds <-- Way too long for me/Average mobile phone gamer
Half of the planned Map (64x64) = Around 5,5 seconds <-- Acceptable, but map is kind of small
Big Map (512x512) = Over 3 Minutes, I quit at that point.

So I would really like to go with my Standard Map Scenario, but the loading time just is not good enough. The player has the option to choose from several maps, so I'm afraid I cannot load the level async ahead of time. Is there anything I'm missing here? Anything I could optimize?

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Loading times on Tilemaps
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 11:04:13 am »
Is your tile map committed before you build for your platform? If it isn't it will be building the tile map at load time as opposed to simply loading the built tile map meshes, which will be quite slow. If you use platform collections, it will build every time - I'd turn off platforms to see if the performance is acceptable before proceeding.

Run the profiler to see what takes the most time. If all the data is ready (based on the criteria above), there should be very little computation at runtime. You shouldn't see tileMap.Build in the profiler. If you do, please check the above and look at the debug output to see if there are any messages

spr

• View Profile