Hello Guest

Author Topic: Speed and Sprite Meshes  (Read 9777 times)

TheDreamMaster

• View Profile
Speed and Sprite Meshes
« on: February 04, 2014, 05:33:39 pm »
Hi,

I am relatively new to 2D toolkit. I have been using it to build a game for mobile devices so I have been trying to squeeze as much performance out as possible.

Right now I am using a bunch of additive shaded sprites (own custom shader), so basically my sprites have no alpha, but black areas act as transparent. I was wondering if there is a way to get 2Dtk to create a custom polygonal mesh for the sprites so that I can save time on rendering portions of the sprite.

From my tests, the native Unity sprites perform 20% faster than 2Dtk sprites, using rectangular meshes. I am using 2Dtk for the atlasing, but I would love to have the same performance as with the Unity sprites. I also have Uni2D and it did render faster when using polygonal meshes in another game.

If this is not possible, are there any suggestions for speeding up rendering to the max?

(I am probably using all the tricks already but I ask just in case I am missing some)

Thank you in advance!
« Last Edit: February 05, 2014, 12:44:00 am by TheDreamMaster »

unikronsoftware

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Speed and Sprite Meshes
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 10:38:38 am »
There are 2 features which can probably help here:
1. Mesh shapes for sprites (http://2dtoolkit.com/docs/latest/advanced/sprite_optimizations/sprite_optimizations.html)
2. Sprite dicing, which is useful for backgrounds and larger areas - http://2dtoolkit.com/docs/latest/advanced/sprite_dicing.html You stand to make significant gains with this if it will work with your sprites (i.e. predominantly large solid areas)

TheDreamMaster

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2014, 08:44:45 am »
Hi thank you for your reply.

Sprite dicing is probably not going to help me, I am dealing with small animated sprites, not large areas.