Hello Guest

Author Topic: Auto Tiles?  (Read 4937 times)

Prideravanok

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Auto Tiles?
« on: June 03, 2014, 01:05:20 am »
Hey there i am making a top down 2d rpg. I am proud to be using 2dtoolkit to aid me in this venture. My problem is. I HATE tiling. Corners etc.. WIll take forever! time i could be spending making epic monkey bazookas.

Is it possible to make the the map auto corner itself? or give the pallet some sort of option to know which corner belongs to it so i can draw a curvy road freely. Without the tedious click, *look for corner* click, *wrong corner* undo, *look for corner* click.

Thanks in advance!


unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: Auto Tiles?
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2014, 11:01:08 am »
Hey Prideravanok - we had a working autotile system at some point, but there are no plans on completing it at the moment. Its not polished enough for general release, and probably no longer works with the latest builds... You could build one on top of the system that exists currently. I can offer some advice if you want to code a solution.

Prideravanok

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Auto Tiles?
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2014, 03:04:45 pm »
I would be very grateful!

unikronsoftware

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9709
    • View Profile
Re: Auto Tiles?
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2014, 08:12:35 pm »
The easiest way to do this is to manage this in the tilemap stage. You paint in the core tile. So... you if you have grass and mud, with all the possible corner pieces (13 if I remember correctly) - you only ever use the center piece. Your map should now look like its made of solid grass and solid mud.

Once this is done, you write a script to run through your tilemap, and based on the tile you are on, and the 8 adjacent tiles, you pick the appropriate transition tile and replace that tile. Because this is a one off process, you basically have a big lookup table that tells you the best tile to pick based on the surrounding tiles.

To reiterate - You use the existing tools to paint solid values in, and then write a custom script to convert the solid tiles to the edges, etc.

Prideravanok

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Auto Tiles?
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2014, 12:54:06 am »
I understand,thank you.